THE EMOJI MOVIE (2017)

WELCOME TO THE SECRET WORLD INSIDE YOUR PHONE

Classic puns and plays on words right from the start; immediate signs that I was going to enjoy this animated cinematic adventure. Everything from the depiction of the emoji queue to the semi-personification of internet trolls and spam, this movie took something so simple and really made it playful and hilarious. Really the way they incorporated all of the different phone applications and made the wallpaper into some infinite thing like the universe… all of it was so clever and inventive. I love when something fresh and new comes along and actually works in a way that gives you a real sense of amusement. Honestly, I was a little worried that this was going to be like a Sausage Party situation. That movie was hilarious but just too much of too many things and I’m still shaking my head at the thought of that food orgy. Thank the great ghost of Charlie Chaplin that this movie didn’t go anywhere near that route.

On to the PPCs:

  • I had no idea that there was a “Just Dance Now” phone app. You better believe that I downloaded it and it is both fun and a good form of exercise.
  • What a fantastic voice-over cast! Good ole Anna Faris, James Corden, and TJ Miller among so so many others. I’m still bummed that she and Chris Pratt aren’t together anymore. They were one of my favorite celebrity couples. As for TJ, love him in everything he ever does! Especially Cloverfield. I wonder if that sequel is still happening or not.
  • I can’t speak for anyone else but the part with the firewall was literally an accurate depiction of how I feel when I’ve forgotten my password for anything ever.
  • What’s better than a regular movie montage? An animated one! Too funny.

Definitely two family-friendly thumbs up for this one and I’ll most likely give it another watch or two in the future.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

